

## **FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE**

Media Contact
Cristina Crowson
Director of Communications
Directed Energy Professional Society
(505) 998-4910
Cristina@deps.org

## \$200k Awarded in DE Focused Research Grants for the 2022-23 Academic Year

**ALBUQUERQUE, N.M., Sept. 8-** The Directed Energy Professional Society's (DEPS) Board of Scientific & Engineering Advisors (BSEA) as well as its Executive Director, Mark Neice, proudly announced today the 21 DEPS Graduate Scholars for the 2022-2023 academic year.

Graduate scholars were awarded \$5,000 - \$10,000 in research grants to continue studying in directed energy (DE) technology areas. Candidates for the award must be full-time graduate students who are currently studying high energy lasers (HEL), high power microwave (HPM) systems and technologies, ultra-short pulse lasers (USPL) or counter DE weapon (CDEW) technologies.

Michael Nickerson, University of California, Santa Barbara; was selected for the prestigious Dr. Samuel Blankenship DE Scholar Award, for his research on free-space lasercom and HEL coherent combination. This is a \$10,000 award granted annually to the individual with the overall outstanding scholarship application.

Nicholas Vail, University of Central Florida (UCF), was selected for the *Dr. Jack Slater Award*, for his research on the design and fabrication of high-power Thulium laser systems. Another coveted \$10,000 award, this award is granted annually to the highest scoring student focusing their research efforts on HEL.

Other 2022-23 graduate scholars include: Derek Burrell of the University of Arizona (HEL); Matthew Cooper of UCF (HEL); Travis Crawford of Purdue University (HPM); Cameron Harjes of the University of New Mexico (UNM) (HPM); Anna Janicek of UNM (HPM); Kevin Kwock of Columbia University (HPM); Alexander Meadows of Colorado State University (USPL); Bailey Meehan of Clemson University (HEL); Isabella Pagano of the University of Texas at Austin (USPL); Jacob Pierce of UCLA (USPL); Kevin Reilly of UNM (HEL); Ryan Revolinsky of the University of Michigan (HPM); Zhanna Rodnova of UConn (HEL); Jenny Smith, University of Michigan (HPM); LaShae Smith of UCF (USPL); Andrew Tartaro of the University of Maryland (USPL); Zach Tebow of the University of Minnesota (HEL); Erin Thornton of the University of North Texas (USPL); and Josh Young of Baylor University (HEL).

Since 2011, DEPS has provided nearly \$1.4 million in scholarships. The funds for these awards are provided by grants from the Joint Directed Energy Transition Office and the Office of Naval Research.

"This slate of award winners comes from 16 Universities spanning coast to coast with UCF, UNM and the University of Michigan having multiple awardees. In the HEL thrusts, there is a great deal of work being proposed by the scholars in fiber laser modeling, design and optimization, semiconductor lasers, and HEL propagation. HPM research thrusts spanned from innovative effects research to source and antenna design, and research in the USPL area will be focused on filamentation, effects/interactions and understanding the general propagation of these types of signals. This pool of applications was found to be one of the most competitive in recent years and the BSEA appreciates the broader spectrum of universities opening their doors to DE research. On behalf of DEPS and the DEPS BSEA, congratulations to all the outstanding students receiving awards this year," said Dr. Diana Loree, DEPS Board of Directors Liaison to the BSEA.

The Directed Energy Professional Society fosters research, development, and transition of directed energy technologies, including high energy laser and high-power microwave technologies, for national defense and civilian applications through professional communication and education. For more information, visit www.deps.org.

**END** 

###